Singapore To Curb Arrivals From 7 African Nations Over New Covid Variant

Singapore at the moment has no circumstances of the brand new variant. (File)


Singapore will prohibit arrivals from seven African nations, well being officers stated Friday, after South Africa found a brand new Covid-19 variant with a lot of mutations.

All non-Singaporeans and other people with out everlasting residency within the city-state who’ve current journey historical past to the seven nations will probably be barred from getting into or transiting by way of Singapore, the well being ministry stated.

The new restrictions, which can take impact from Sunday, apply to South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe, the ministry stated.

Singapore residents and foreigners holding everlasting resident standing within the city-state of 5.5 million arriving from these nations can nonetheless enter, however should endure a 10-day quarantine.

Singapore at the moment has no circumstances of the brand new variant, however officers are looking for to “take the necessary precautions to reduce the risks” of it spreading to the nation, the ministry stated.

The city-state has had a light outbreak of Covid-19, reporting virtually 260,000 circumstances and 681 deaths.

Scientists in South Africa introduced the invention of the variant, which fits by the label B.1.1.529, on Thursday, and are blaming it for a surge in infections.

In response, Britain introduced a ban on journey from six southern African nations.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV employees and is revealed from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker