Top stories

Bihar, Jharkhand, UP Poorest States In India: NITI Aayog’s Poverty Index

Bihar, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh have emerged because the poorest states in India. (Representational)

New Delhi:

Bihar, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh have emerged because the poorest states in India, in accordance with NITI Aayog’s Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI).

As per the index, 51.91 per cent inhabitants of Bihar is poor, adopted 42.16 per cent in Jharkhand, 37.79 per cent in Uttar Pradesh. While Madhya Pradesh (36.65 per cent) has been positioned fourth within the index, Meghalaya (32.67 per cent) is on the fifth spot.

Kerala (0.71 per cent), Goa (3.76 per cent), Sikkim (3.82 per cent), Tamil Nadu (4.89 per cent) and Punjab (5.59 per cent) have registered the bottom poverty throughout India and are on the backside of the index.

According to the report, India’s nationwide Multidimensional Poverty Index measure makes use of the globally accepted and strong methodology developed by the Oxford Poverty and Human Development Initiative (OPHI) and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

Importantly, as a measure of multidimensional poverty, it captures a number of and simultaneous deprivation confronted by households, it added.

The report stated, India’s Multidimensional Poverty Index has three equally weighted dimensions, well being, schooling and way of life – that are represented by 12 indicators particularly vitamin, baby and adolescent mortality, antenatal care, years of education, college attendance, cooking gas, sanitation, consuming water, electrical energy, housing, property and financial institution accounts.

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) framework, adopted by 193 nations in 2015, has redefined improvement insurance policies, authorities priorities, and metrics for measuring improvement progress the world over.

The Sustainable Development Goals framework, with 17 international targets and 169 targets, is considerably wider in scope and scale relative to the Millennium Development Goals (MDG), its predecessor.

NITI Aayog Vice Chairman Rajiv Kumar in his foreword stated, “The development of the National Multidimensional Poverty Index of India is an important contribution towards instituting a public policy tool which monitors multidimensional poverty, informs evidence-based and focused interventions, thereby ensuring that no one is left behind.”

Mr Kumar additional stated this baseline report of India’s first ever nationwide Multidimensional Poverty Index measure relies on the reference interval of 2015-16 of the National Family Health Survey (NFHS).

The nationwide Multidimensional Poverty Index measure has been constructed by utilising 12 key parts which cowl areas reminiscent of well being and vitamin, schooling and way of life, he stated.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV employees and is printed from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker