Top stories

Committee Headed By PM To Meet Today On Deciding Next CBI Director

PM Narendra Modi-headed committee will meet right now over selecting of recent CBI chief.

The committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi comprising Leader of Opposition Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and Chief Justice of India NV Ramana will meet right now to pick out the following director of the Central Bureau of Investigation.

The committee will take into account Indian Police Service (IPS) officers from 4 senior-most batches (1984-87) to be the following CBI chief.

Some of the frontrunners are: YC Modi, a 1984-batch IPS officer from the Assam-Meghalaya cadre and Director General of the National Investigation Agency; Rakesh Asthana, Gujarat cadre Director General of the Border Security Force, and SS Deswal, Haryana cadre Director General of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police.

1985-batch IPS officers together with Uttar Pradesh DGP HC Awasthi, Kerala DGP Loknath Behera, Railway Protection Force DG Arun Kumar and Central Industrial Security Force DG SK Jaiswal are additionally in competition.

In whole, over 100 officers from the 1984-87 batches will likely be thought-about by the committee.

The legislation says the committee will choose the CBI director “on the basis of seniority, integrity and experience in the investigation of anti-corruption cases” from a listing of IPS officers drawn from the 4 senior-most batches.

The officer chosen as CBI director will maintain workplace for a interval of not lower than two years from the date on which she or he takes cost.

After finishing two years, RK Shukla retired as CBI director in February this 12 months. The senior-most Additional Director within the CBI, Praveen Sinha, has been working as CBI Director until the appointment of full-time chief.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker